Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

Get general Towns support here

Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

Postby konso » Wed Jun 26, 2013 5:47 pm

In my current game I accidentally dug into the river on level 2. This caused a bit of (fun!) chaos :P
Edit: game version 13a

However, after limiting the damage with floodgates and walls and while designing a pumping system to (maybe) drain the level, I noticed that many of my townies stopped moving for quite a while after completing a task. Citizen list shows these townies having the "Move" task.

Could this be a side effect of all the water everywhere (harder for pathfinding)? Or is something else wrong that I don't know about?

I have the save in case anyone is interested.

-Konso
Last edited by konso on Thu Jun 27, 2013 6:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
konso
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:38 pm

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

Postby caprontos » Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:47 pm

Haven't heard of "Stuck with move task" for awhile.. Use to have issues with it.. for other reasons I think..so maybe a new bug that you are lucky enough to find..

Something to try.. pause your game and let it paused for a little bit - then unpause and see if everyone moves.. Since when the manager gets more then it can handle.. some people get stuck waiting for it to catch up (like with really big sieges).. I don't know if water effects that or not... but worth a try :S..

If doesn't help maybe someone else has seen a similar issue and knows something more useful..
Image
Cha Cha Cha!
User avatar
caprontos
 
Posts: 3930
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 3:18 am

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

Postby ragnar » Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:21 am

Try to go to options/performance and increase the pathfinding to max (number 6)
ragnar
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 1:49 pm

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

Postby konso » Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:38 pm

Ok, tried both - set the game on pause and set the pathfinding to 6 and left it there for several minutes. No change. Any other ideas?
konso
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:38 pm

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

Postby supermalparit » Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:10 am

Save/Load the game should solve the pathfinding stucks (if any). If not, please, provide us the saved game and we will take a look
Xavi Canal
Image
User avatar
supermalparit
Towns team
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:57 pm

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

Postby konso » Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:48 am

Save/load doesn't help. Here's the savegame:
http://tietokonetohtori.fi/random/move%20stuck.zip
konso
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:38 pm

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

Postby burfo » Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:20 am

Konso, I loaded up your save. I can see the problem too. Some townies will get stuck with a Move task and stand around for a long while, then eventually decide to do something else.
burfo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:47 am

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

Postby supermalparit » Tue Jul 02, 2013 4:04 pm

I'll take a look
Xavi Canal
Image
User avatar
supermalparit
Towns team
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:57 pm

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

Postby supermalparit » Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:25 am

It seems that those townies are trying to move some wooden blocks from layer -7 (the ones with a red cross on them) but there is no path.

I supose there was a path when you set the order but now is broke and the order remains. I'll see what can I do.
Xavi Canal
Image
User avatar
supermalparit
Towns team
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:57 pm

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

Postby konso » Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:53 am

Thanks!
konso
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:38 pm


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests