Launching on OSX thread

Get general Towns support here

Re: How do i run on mac?

Postby teh.f4ll3n » Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:10 pm

No, I don't own a Mac. There are more topics on Mac OS around here. Try looking around.
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on. ©Russians
Image
Image
Back to my roots: Fallout 2
User avatar
teh.f4ll3n
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:42 pm

Mac OSX Lion Terminal Permissions [NOT A BUG]

Postby Smase » Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:17 pm

Ok so i have looked on the thread and i am running 10.7.2 now when i first downloaded it said i did not have access privileges which is stupid coz i am the only account on my mac and i am the admin so i tried some of the codes on here but non of them work the same thing PLEASE help!! also i looked and i am sure i am running java 1.6
Image
Thanks
Smase
Smase900
Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/smase900
Skype: jason.savage900
Smase
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 5:42 pm
Location: England

Re: Launching on OSX [SOLVED]

Postby jase820 » Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:04 am

Smase,

Which codes did you try?

Try going to the directory in the Terminal and type "ls -l"

You should get something similar to this:
Code: Select all
Jason$ ls -l             
~several lines edited out~
-rwxrwxr--   1 Jason  501    103 Jan 26 00:02 towns.command


If there is not an x in the first group of 3, you'll need to add it.

"chmod 774 towns.command" will set your permissions to be the same as mine. You could also use 744 as other people in this thread have suggested.
jase820
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 3:54 am

Re: Mac OSX Lion Terminal Permissions

Postby SphaZ » Fri Feb 03, 2012 7:08 am

Not a bug; zip files do not keep file permission flags.

Go to the towns directory chmod 744 (or 774) towns.command to set executional permissions. More info can be found here:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=7&start=30
SphaZ
 

Re: How do i run on mac?

Postby supermalparit » Fri Feb 03, 2012 7:10 am

Can you give us more information?
Xavi Canal
Image
User avatar
supermalparit
Towns team
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:57 pm

Starting on a mac

Postby redghost14 » Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:26 pm

Hey guys, really need your help here

i just pre-ordered this game and payed 13.43$ in USD, and i have NO CLUE how to start it up. ive looked through everyhting, the only thing that seems like i could open it with i "dont have permission" to open it or something. i need help asap please.
redghost14
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Starting on a mac

Postby SphaZ » Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:29 pm

Unzip the file.

Go to the unzipped directory (with a prompt) and do chmod 744 (or 774) towns.command.

More info on OSX issues can be found: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=7
SphaZ
 

Re: Starting on a mac

Postby redghost14 » Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:32 pm

thanks! will that start it directly or is there more?
redghost14
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Starting on a mac

Postby SphaZ » Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:34 pm

redghost14 wrote:thanks! will that start it directly or is there more?


To be honest, I am not quite sure. I would suggest checking the thread we have. I don't own a Mac, but I remember reading people having issues because the towns.command is not executable after unzipping.

Hope it helps.
SphaZ
 

Re: Starting on a mac

Postby redghost14 » Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:42 pm

SphaZ wrote:
redghost14 wrote:thanks! will that start it directly or is there more?


To be honest, I am not quite sure. I would suggest checking the thread we have. I don't own a Mac, but I remember reading people having issues because the towns.command is not executable after unzipping.

Hope it helps.


i looked in the other thread, just got really confused. thanks for trying to help though! hopefully the next update will make it easy to start
redghost14
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:23 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron