A few complaints, and possible solutions.

Post here your suggestions for future Towns releases

A few complaints, and possible solutions.

Postby SoralTheSol » Mon Jan 20, 2014 11:38 pm

So here I am, posting in the suggestions board once more. I recently started playing Towns again after a good long break and sure enough, ran into some of those age old problems that succeed in driving me batty.

AI pathing is still faulty. A few recipes need to be rebalanced. Still can't build farm land except on naturally generated terrain. I know at first it doesn't seem like much but it does effect how the game can be played. While Towns has indeed come a long way, to be honest I was expecting more by now. This may sound odd coming from someone who has never made it to the final floor of the dungeon, but the world under the town was never that important to me. So let's get to what this post should be about, my ideas to fix the issues.

AI Pathing: To be blunt, your townies are still derpasses no matter what amount of processing power you have dedicated to them. Not only will your townies decide to take the longest possible rout in situations because of the way they are coded, they will also go out of their way to trap themselves in a horrible situation. Tell them to block the entrance of a cave with some walls? They can do that, but they tend to block themselves into the cave with no escape. I look at this and I realize what the problem is, and the solution is obvious. So obvious it has been suggested multiple times by multiple people and should honestly be on that fabled "To Do List" for all things Towns dev.