Launching on OSX thread

Get general Towns support here

Re: Starting on a mac

Postby redghost14 » Sat Feb 04, 2012 1:22 am

trying to revive here, the other posts are not helping me
redghost14
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Starting on a mac

Postby Tutamun » Sat Feb 04, 2012 1:32 am

Before you run the game you have to do a few basic 'setup' steps first.

1.) Ensure that you use Java 6 and that it is the preferred Java version.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=7#p78
2.) Unzip the game.
3.) Make the towns.command executable (That is the "chmod 744 towns.command" or "chmod 777 towns.command" people talk about.)
Open a terminal windows and type:
Code: Select all
cd /<path where you unzipped the game>/Towns
ls -la
(this should show you a list of files including "towns.command" with "-rw..." in front of it)
chmod 777 towns.command
ls -la
(this should again show you "towns.command" but this time there should be some "-rwx..." in front of it. The x indicates that it is executable.)


Now you should be able to start the game with "towns.command" or "./towns.command".

And if this does not help then post as detailed as possible what you have done and what error you get. Maybe even with screen shots.
User avatar
Tutamun
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:52 am

Re: Starting on a mac

Postby redghost14 » Sat Feb 04, 2012 2:15 am

Tutamun wrote:Before you run the game you have to do a few basic 'setup' steps first.

1.) Ensure that you use Java 6 and that it is the preferred Java version.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=7#p78
2.) Unzip the game.
3.) Make the towns.command executable (That is the "chmod 744 towns.command" or "chmod 777 towns.command" people talk about.)
Open a terminal windows and type:
Code: Select all
cd /<path where you unzipped the game>/Towns
ls -la
(this should show you a list of files including "towns.command" with "-rw..." in front of it)
chmod 777 towns.command
ls -la
(this should again show you "towns.command" but this time there should be some "-rwx..." in front of it. The x indicates that it is executable.)


Now you should be able to start the game with "towns.command" or "./towns.command".

And if this does not help then post as detailed as possible what you have done and what error you get. Maybe even with screen shots.


it will just say "chmod towns.command: no such file or directory"
redghost14
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Starting on a mac

Postby Tutamun » Sat Feb 04, 2012 2:42 am

it will just say "chmod towns.command: no such file or directory"

This means you are not in the correct folder. You have to know where the file is before you can modify it.
Where have you unzipped the game?
User avatar
Tutamun
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:52 am

Re: Starting on a mac

Postby Pere250 » Sat Feb 04, 2012 5:55 am

Hello!

I have been having some troubles as well, I have tried to follow the steps that I find but having troubles trying to do so,
Image
Idk if this will help but id thought I would post anyways.

I had to decrease the size of the screen since it was cutoff in the forms, will re-upload it
I do realize the mistake of the towns.command but it said the path did not work so
Thanks
Last edited by Pere250 on Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
[font=Edwardian Script ITC]Pere250[/font]
Pere250
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 5:29 am
Location: Canada

Re: Starting on a mac

Postby teh.f4ll3n » Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:25 am

Pere250 wrote:Hello!

I have been having some troubles as well, I have tried to follow the steps that I find but having troubles trying to do so,
Image
Idk if this will help but id thought I would post anyways.

Thanks


you don't need to add 'towns.command' at the end of the cd path as it's not a directory and you need a space after 'cd'. The correct command would be:

Code: Select all
cd /Users/streetcop_1995/Desktop/Towns
chmod 777 towns.command


Copy-paste into terminal
make sure your username is correct - i can only guess what it is at this resolution


PS. SphaZ, sometimes I feel like locking all the ppl who can't use their terminal in a room with a blank 'puter, internet connection and a Gentoo disk, and not feed or let them out until that PC is running a fully configured distro :D
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on. ©Russians
Image
Image
Back to my roots: Fallout 2
User avatar
teh.f4ll3n
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:42 pm

Re: Starting on a mac

Postby Tutamun » Sat Feb 04, 2012 11:01 am

Okay the screenshot is extremely small so it is not easy to read the text but I'll try my best...

Judging from the message at the top right the file "towns.command" does not have (x) executable rights.

You have unzipped the game on your Desktop?
You have a folder on your Desktop named "Towns"?

Open a terminal window and type:
Code: Select all
pwd
ls -la

What do these two commands show?

If I'm correct the first one will show "/Users/<your login name>".
The second should show a long list of files including "Desktop".

If that is the case you can issue these commands in your terminal window:
Code: Select all
cd Desktop
ls -la


What do these two commands show?
The second one should show you a list of files that are on your Desktop including the folder "Towns".

Correct? Then continue typing:
Code: Select all
cd Towns
ls -la


Does it show a list of files including "towns.command"?
And are there some "rw-" in front of the "towns.command"?

Yes? Then continue typing:
Code: Select all
chmod 777 towns.command
ls -la


What do these two commands show?
Are there some "rwx" in front of the "towns.command" now?

Great, now you should be able to run "towns.command".
User avatar
Tutamun
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:52 am

Re: Starting on a mac

Postby redghost14 » Sat Feb 04, 2012 12:14 pm

thanks alot guys, and you would be REALLY helpful if i was not so stupid :cry: i know im asking alot (espicially on a mac) but if somone could make a video on how to do this you'd be my hero. i tried everything but either get no such file or directory or when i do ls -la alot of things come up, none of them being towns.command
redghost14
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Starting on a mac

Postby redghost14 » Sat Feb 04, 2012 12:17 pm

Tutamun wrote:Okay the screenshot is extremely small so it is not easy to read the text but I'll try my best...

Judging from the message at the top right the file "towns.command" does not have (x) executable rights.

You have unzipped the game on your Desktop?
You have a folder on your Desktop named "Towns"?

Open a terminal window and type:
Code: Select all
pwd
ls -la

What do these two commands show?

If I'm correct the first one will show "/Users/<your login name>".
The second should show a long list of files including "Desktop".

If that is the case you can issue these commands in your terminal window:
Code: Select all
cd Desktop
ls -la


What do these two commands show?
The second one should show you a list of files that are on your Desktop including the folder "Towns".

Correct? Then continue typing:
Code: Select all
cd Towns
ls -la


Does it show a list of files including "towns.command"?
And are there some "rw-" in front of the "towns.command"?

Yes? Then continue typing:
Code: Select all
chmod 777 towns.command
ls -la


What do these two commands show?
Are there some "rwx" in front of the "towns.command" now?

Great, now you should be able to run "towns.command".


wait, i didnt read this, all of this worked im going to try it now. thanks a ton. you are my new hero
redghost14
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Starting on a mac

Postby Pere250 » Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:20 am

Alright it worked so I have recorded and uploaded what i did, thanks of the help Tutamun, you cleared it up for me :P

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2P26OJkVwd4
[font=Edwardian Script ITC]Pere250[/font]
Pere250
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 5:29 am
Location: Canada

PreviousNext

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron