Page 1 of 2

Moving Towns Files

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 4:12 am
by PandaPersonFiji
I have a great town on my Mac and I want to move it over onto my PC, I've tried copying the files and then creating a new save, but it never works and I get a miscellaneous error. Is there any way I can do this?

Re: Moving Towns Files

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 5:11 am
by caprontos
you'd have to get the pc version of towns if you mean your taking the mac version of towns and trying to copy it over?


as for the saves.. you should be able to take the save from the save folder and then transfer it however you like.. and it be compatible.. I could be wrong but I think saves are always compatible - but towns itself is not (is different versions for the different os's..)

Re: Moving Towns Files

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 6:27 pm
by PandaPersonFiji
I have it on Steam, and it's installable on both Mac and PC. So it isn't possible to move it from Mac to PC (the save file)and play it on PC?

Re: Moving Towns Files

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 6:47 pm
by caprontos
Should be able to.. As far as I know

Re: Moving Towns Files

PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2013 1:50 am
by PandaPersonFiji
Do you have any specific instructions for doing so? I just tried to load it, and I got the following error:

[Jun 28, 2013 9:48:14 PM][Utils] Error loading world [java.lang.ClassCastException: xaos.tiles.terrain.Terrain cannot be cast to xaos.data.CitizenGroups]

That was the only line, if you need more I'm sure I could find it somewhere.

Re: Moving Towns Files

PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2013 2:06 am
by caprontos
Need tom or supermalparit to say.. (they would know). I just assume its the same.. Maybe there is some difference.. but they would know..

I would assume just take save file from the one towns save folder and put it in the other towns folder.. but if that's not working maybe is something else to it..

Re: Moving Towns Files

PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2013 8:59 pm
by PandaPersonFiji
Okay! Do you know of a way I could contact them?

Re: Moving Towns Files

PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 2:46 am
by caprontos
PandaPersonFiji wrote:Okay! Do you know of a way I could contact them?


Can pm them here and they will probably get back to you when they are around...

tom k.'s profile here:
memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=1307

and supermalparit here:
memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=55

Or they are bound to be around and reply to this topic anyway (I will ask either if they are around).

Re: Moving Towns Files

PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:06 am
by supermalparit
Both Mac and PC games are on the same build? (say, v13a).

If so, it should work

Re: Moving Towns Files

PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:58 am
by tom k.
By "copying the files" do you mean the towns game files? In that case perhaps the native libraries are different in the windows/mac builds.

Game saves are the same for both the windows and mac. To move them over from mac to windows you need to copy the files from:

/Users/USERNAME/.towns/saves

to

C:\users\USERNAME\.towns\saves


The game should find the save and be able to load it. :)