Moving Towns Files

Get general Towns support here

Moving Towns Files

Postby PandaPersonFiji » Fri Jun 28, 2013 4:12 am

I have a great town on my Mac and I want to move it over onto my PC, I've tried copying the files and then creating a new save, but it never works and I get a miscellaneous error. Is there any way I can do this?
PandaPersonFiji
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 4:10 am

Re: Moving Towns Files

Postby caprontos » Fri Jun 28, 2013 5:11 am

you'd have to get the pc version of towns if you mean your taking the mac version of towns and trying to copy it over?


as for the saves.. you should be able to take the save from the save folder and then transfer it however you like.. and it be compatible.. I could be wrong but I think saves are always compatible - but towns itself is not (is different versions for the different os's..)
Image
Cha Cha Cha!
User avatar
caprontos
 
Posts: 3930
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 3:18 am

Re: Moving Towns Files

Postby PandaPersonFiji » Fri Jun 28, 2013 6:27 pm

I have it on Steam, and it's installable on both Mac and PC. So it isn't possible to move it from Mac to PC (the save file)and play it on PC?
PandaPersonFiji
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 4:10 am

Re: Moving Towns Files

Postby caprontos » Fri Jun 28, 2013 6:47 pm

Should be able to.. As far as I know
Image
Cha Cha Cha!
User avatar
caprontos
 
Posts: 3930
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 3:18 am

Re: Moving Towns Files

Postby PandaPersonFiji » Sat Jun 29, 2013 1:50 am

Do you have any specific instructions for doing so? I just tried to load it, and I got the following error:

[Jun 28, 2013 9:48:14 PM][Utils] Error loading world [java.lang.ClassCastException: xaos.tiles.terrain.Terrain cannot be cast to xaos.data.CitizenGroups]

That was the only line, if you need more I'm sure I could find it somewhere.
PandaPersonFiji
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 4:10 am

Re: Moving Towns Files

Postby caprontos » Sat Jun 29, 2013 2:06 am

Need tom or supermalparit to say.. (they would know). I just assume its the same.. Maybe there is some difference.. but they would know..

I would assume just take save file from the one towns save folder and put it in the other towns folder.. but if that's not working maybe is something else to it..
Image
Cha Cha Cha!
User avatar
caprontos
 
Posts: 3930
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 3:18 am

Re: Moving Towns Files

Postby PandaPersonFiji » Sat Jun 29, 2013 8:59 pm

Okay! Do you know of a way I could contact them?
PandaPersonFiji
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 4:10 am

Re: Moving Towns Files

Postby caprontos » Sun Jun 30, 2013 2:46 am

PandaPersonFiji wrote:Okay! Do you know of a way I could contact them?


Can pm them here and they will probably get back to you when they are around...

tom k.'s profile here:
memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=1307

and supermalparit here:
memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=55

Or they are bound to be around and reply to this topic anyway (I will ask either if they are around).
Image
Cha Cha Cha!
User avatar
caprontos
 
Posts: 3930
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 3:18 am

Re: Moving Towns Files

Postby supermalparit » Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:06 am

Both Mac and PC games are on the same build? (say, v13a).

If so, it should work
Xavi Canal
Image
User avatar
supermalparit
Towns team
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:57 pm

Re: Moving Towns Files

Postby tom k. » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:58 am

By "copying the files" do you mean the towns game files? In that case perhaps the native libraries are different in the windows/mac builds.

Game saves are the same for both the windows and mac. To move them over from mac to windows you need to copy the files from:

/Users/USERNAME/.towns/saves

to

C:\users\USERNAME\.towns\saves


The game should find the save and be able to load it. :)
Tom K.
Former Community Moderator


Please read the FAQs before posting.
Image
Towns' Official Modding Partner Site - Townsmods.net
tom k.
 
Posts: 1605
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 7:22 pm
Location: Lincoln, UK

Next

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron