Page 1 of 1

Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 5:47 pm
by konso
In my current game I accidentally dug into the river on level 2. This caused a bit of (fun!) chaos :P
Edit: game version 13a

However, after limiting the damage with floodgates and walls and while designing a pumping system to (maybe) drain the level, I noticed that many of my townies stopped moving for quite a while after completing a task. Citizen list shows these townies having the "Move" task.

Could this be a side effect of all the water everywhere (harder for pathfinding)? Or is something else wrong that I don't know about?

I have the save in case anyone is interested.

-Konso

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:47 pm
by caprontos
Haven't heard of "Stuck with move task" for awhile.. Use to have issues with it.. for other reasons I think..so maybe a new bug that you are lucky enough to find..

Something to try.. pause your game and let it paused for a little bit - then unpause and see if everyone moves.. Since when the manager gets more then it can handle.. some people get stuck waiting for it to catch up (like with really big sieges).. I don't know if water effects that or not... but worth a try :S..

If doesn't help maybe someone else has seen a similar issue and knows something more useful..

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:21 am
by ragnar
Try to go to options/performance and increase the pathfinding to max (number 6)

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:38 pm
by konso
Ok, tried both - set the game on pause and set the pathfinding to 6 and left it there for several minutes. No change. Any other ideas?

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:10 am
by supermalparit
Save/Load the game should solve the pathfinding stucks (if any). If not, please, provide us the saved game and we will take a look

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:48 am
by konso
Save/load doesn't help. Here's the savegame:
http://tietokonetohtori.fi/random/move%20stuck.zip

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:20 am
by burfo
Konso, I loaded up your save. I can see the problem too. Some townies will get stuck with a Move task and stand around for a long while, then eventually decide to do something else.

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 4:04 pm
by supermalparit
I'll take a look

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:25 am
by supermalparit
It seems that those townies are trying to move some wooden blocks from layer -7 (the ones with a red cross on them) but there is no path.

I supose there was a path when you set the order but now is broke and the order remains. I'll see what can I do.

Re: Townies not moving (caused by flood?)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:53 am
by konso
Thanks!