Started up a roast-based town, went exceedingly well.

Show us your creations and tactics!

Started up a roast-based town, went exceedingly well.

Postby Aftermath » Sun Mar 02, 2014 6:40 am

Hey all, I started playing again last week and after stagnating around 50 townies subsisting on bread, read some of the tips on the forums (esp YetiChow's) and started to overhaul my food production. I started to switch more toward the meat-based foods and favoring fill %, eventually realizing that going Roast-only seemed pretty viable. My goal was to have as large of a standing army as possible, since I got the urge to play after re-reading Guns, Germs, and Steel (which coincidentally enough burningpet cited as a big influence on the game), and currently I have it sitting rather comfortably with a 1:1 ratio and 366 population. The post-dungeon idea was to use seiges to gather the rare ITEs and keep equipping the patrols, but the seiges aren't really getting tougher, just larger in size, although the heroes and tower defense I have set up have dealt with everything so far. I've deviated from some of the advice here so far, since the town isn't all that centralized anymore, a repeat of this idea with more forethought could have it be more successful potentially, but I was quite surprised at just how sustainable roasts are for a giant (to me) population.

I currently have 6 different kitchens set up, the first two on the main level are probably the busiest.

Then 3/4/5 somewhat directly below that. Off to the right it's not very busy at all, I'm guessing the tasks for cooking follow the same location priority as mining (left to right). The 6th kitchen is generally dead since it's a floor lower still. I've never seen the roasts hit the amount I set, although I've had more than 50 townies working on them concurrently before. It seems to keep up, I've never seen more than 1-2 cooked fish used.